The South

Have you ever heard of Southern Hospitality? You know how they describe the southern states to have more hospitality towards each other than any other parts of USA? Yes, it is true! But there is more about The South than just that term of Southern Hospitality.

So, out of all 50 states in United States of America, I am sooooo dang lucky to be placed in South Carolina. Why? Because I totally think that my exchange experience couldn’t get any better. And that is all because I am placed in the south.

Whenever I just got there //I am writing this 2 years post my exchange year// I am extremely overwhelmed by all the warm welcome I received. Even though I cannot lie that I was a bit disappointed that the place that I’d be staying at is not as all-american-super-modern-movie-like kinda place, but it all means nothing after all that warm hug I received that day.

When I got home, the first thing that totally caught my eyes was a sign about the south. Its a simple, white board with things written on it with a dark ink. The things written on it goes like :

The South

The place where… 1. Tea is sweet and accents are sweeter. 2. Summer starts in April. 3. Macaroni & Cheese is a vegetable. 4. Front porches are wide and words are long. 5.  Pecan pie is a staple. 6. Y’all is the only proper noun. 7. Chicken is friend and biscuits come with gravy. 8. Everything is Darlin’. 9. Someone’s heart is always being blessed.

IMG_0623

And that sign completely describe what The South is really mean. The south is like a home. Like even though you want to live out there in the heart of the big world, as in big cities all around the world, eventually you’ll always want to come back home to the south.

XOXO,

Rana Effendi

Leave a Reply

